This is the "Search Engines" page of the "Academic Search Engines " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Alternative search engines that search only academic results
Last Updated: Dec 5, 2013 URL: http://shs.bellinghamschools.libguides.com/content.php?pid=473719 Print Guide RSS Updates

Search Engines Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

RefSeek


RefSeek“RefSeek’s unique approach offers students comprehensive subject coverage without the information overload of a general search engine—increasing the visibility of academic information and compelling ideas that are often lost in a muddle of sponsored links and commercial results.”

 

Gooru Learning

Gooru Learning: Part search engine, part learning management system, Gooru Learning is a neat tool to help teachers get started with blended learning.

 

Virtual LRC

Virtual LRC: A Google-powered and Virtual LRC “refined” academic search engine.

 

BASE

BASE“As the open access movement grows and prospers, more and more repository servers come into being which use the “Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting” (OAI-PMH) for providing their contents. BASE collects, normalises, and indexes these data. BASE provides more than 40 million documents from more than 2,400 sources.”

 

Jurn

Jurn“A curated academic search-engine, indexing 4,507 free ejournals in the arts & humanities.” 

 

Microsoft Academic Search

Microsoft Academic Search“Microsoft Academic Search covers more than 48 million publications and over 20 million authors across a variety of domains with updates added each week. This large collection of data has also allowed users to create several innovative ways to visualize and explore academic papers, authors, conferences, and journal” 

 

Sweet Search

 

IOP Science

                                                                 

Welcome to IOPscience, the home of scientific content from IOP Publishing and our partners. Find content in these subject areas:

Condensed matter, soft matter and materials scienceAtomic, molecular, optical and plasma physicsNuclear and high energy particle physicsMedical physics, biological physics and biomedical engineeringAstrophysics, cosmology and gravitationMathematical, statistical and quantum physicsEarth and environmental science

 

BioOne

  BioOne is a global, not-for-profit collaboration bringing together scientific societies, publishers, and libraries to provide access to critical, peer-reviewed research in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.

BioOne Mobil Paring Instructions

 

GetCITED


getCITED is an online, member-controlled academic 
databasedirectory and discussion forum. Its contents are entered and edited by members of the academic community. By putting its content in the hands of its members, getCITEDmakes it possible to enter in and search for publications of all types. This means that, in addition to the books and articles accessible with other databases, book chapters, conference papers, working papers, reports, papers in conference proceedings, and other such research outlets can all be entered and then searched for within getCITED. In addition, getCITED makes it possible to link publications with all the publications in their bibliographies, thereby making possible a wide variety of publication and citation reports.

If you're already a member of getCITED, you can sign in to your left (and thereby avoid seeing this page again). If you're not a member, please consider joining. Everyone is welcome to access the contents of getCITED, but in order to add to and edit its contents, you must be signed in as a member. Why? Quite simply, so we can tell who is making changes to its contents. Everything can be edited by everyone within getCITED. Therefore, it is imperative to monitor who is altering its contents lest any inappropriate information appear within it. But if you're not yet sure you want to become a member, feel free to enter as a visitor and take a look around.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip