Archetypes research information, links and resources
Last Updated: Apr 14, 2017
Search Arts and Humanities Through the Eras
Do a search under Society and Culture, then type in Folklore or Mythology. You will find a wide variety of current and ancient folklore articles and links.
Archetypes and motifs in folklore and literature : a handbook
Call Number: 398ARC
The Power of Myth
Call Number: 291.1 CAM
- Academic Info. Mythology & Folklore
Academic Info's mission is to develop a subject directory which covers each academic discipline. Provides comprehensive, quality links by topic, time period, region, and other gateways. All links have detailed annotations.
Compiled by D. L. Ashliman of the University of Pittsburgh, this site links to all things folk and fairy tale related on the web. Includes electronic texts, libraries, directories, encyclopedias, and organizations. Includes links to foreign language sites.
- Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
"The Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage is a research and educational unit of the Smithsonian Institution promoting the understanding and continuity of diverse, contemporary grassroots cultures in the United States and around the world."
- DMOZ Society. Folklore
A huge free directory of web content without advertising. Editing is done by volunteers. Links are arranged by broad topic.
- Mythology, Legend, Folklore, & Ghosts
Created by a public school teacher in suburban Dallas, this website contains a massive number of sites, arranged by broad category. Some dead links.
- Folklore and Mythology Resource Guide
This is a pretty robust site with many links, resources and podcasts. Lots of information here!
- Encyclopedia Mythica
An online encyclopedia on mythology, folklore, and legends that "contains over 7,000 definitions of gods and goddesses, supernatural beings and legendary creatures and monsters from all over the world." Provides keyword searching and jump links to articles organized by country, religion, and ethnicity.
- Dictionary of Symbolism
Searchable online dictionary of literary symbols compiled by students at the University of Michigan.
- Bulfinch Age of Fable from Bartleby
Provides free access to 1913 Bulfinch Mythology.
- Brewer’s Dictionary of Phrase and Fable
This is an online version of the 1898 edition of this classic source for the meaning and origin of phrases and fables. It was revised by Bartleby.com in 2000. Text is searchable by keyword.
- Symbols.com: Encyclopedia of Western Signs and Ideograms
This online version of Carl G. Liungman's 1995 book Thought Signs: the Semiotics of Symbols, Western Non-Pictorial Ideograms containing over 2,500 signs is searchable by graphic and word indices.